Viking DNA? Yes! More discoveries about my Norse and Scottish ancestry

Not related to writing, but I’m so stoked over this info that I had to share with *somebody*!

http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2015/01/15/dna-tests-prove-scots-clan-are-viking-not-irish/
DNA tests prove Scots clan are Viking not Irish
============
HOLY COW! Just ran across this article, and it’s about Clan MacNeil, the clan that’s connected to my birth mother’s side. There is a Thomas MacNeil mentioned in the 9 generations of genealogy info I have from the family genealogist/historian. Because I can prove my ancestry from Clan MacNeil, if I wanted to visit the Isle of Barra, off of Scotland, I could visit there and also the clan castle. I’d love to do that some day!

The article makes total SENSE because I did my DNA ancestry through 23andme.com and it came up with a shit-ton of Northern European, with Norwegian/Scandinavian. THIS is where that Viking/Norwegian link comes from! WOW. And I stumbled across this article by accident. Holy crap!

I was right all along — that part of my DNA is related to this. I don’t care if I’m not related to Irish royalty, because on my birth father’s side, I’m related to two U.S. presidents AND a Russian Tsar.

This is so freaking exciting to me! Okay, now I’m ready to move to Norway or the Isle of Barra, where my Viking & Scottish ancestors lived. wink emoticon

From the article: “The clan was infamous throughout Scotland and beyond for its Viking-style pirating and great seamanship.

MacNeils raided the seas from their base at Kisimul Castle in Birlinn vessels – boats similar to the Viking longships.

Western Isles MP, Angus MacNeil, who also lives on Barra, said: ‘The MacNeils were a notoriously pirating clan. It’s no surprise we have Norse DNA.
‘Maybe we are the last vikings.’

The MP joked: ‘‘Conquer or die’ is the clan motto. Given the size of the island we ended up on we must have been better at the dying than the conquering.'”

Leave a Reply

