Why am I so critical of organized religion? Here are some reasons.

You may wonder why I’m so hard on organized religion, and why I’m so critical of it. There are many reasons. None of which I actually have to share with anybody, mind you. However, if you watch this video and read the info about it, you’ll have a small clue as to one of the myriad of reasons why I want nothing to do with any of the Abrahamic religions, for starters. Organized religion has never been comfortable to me, and it’s never struck me as true for my heart or soul.

There are numerous problems with organized religion that I cannot sufficiently satisfy in my own mind. So, while some of you post religious stuff on your walls all the time, I will likewise post about my thoughts and beliefs. I do not ask you to refrain from posting your content about your religion, and I expect that you will afford me the same courtesy. I will no longer be silent about the thoughts I think about certain things. This is one of my virtual homes, and in my home I get to post what is important to me. You are welcome to unfollow me or avoid my posts if you can’t handle me exercising my right to expression as many do on a daily basis.

As for the video, I witnessed something similar when I was a young girl. I’d been asked to go to church with a friend. During the service, the pastor walked up to a kid in the first row and snatched him up by the hair on his head and berated him in front of the entire congregation. I never, ever forgot that. At the time, I remember thinking that I didn’t want to have anything to do with going to church if that happened.

In another instance, I was playing on my front porch at home and someone came up into our yard and up to me on the porch and started talking to me about Jesus and God and tried to ‘save’ me right there. My mom wasn’t outside with me, and I remember being scared at this stranger trying to ‘save’ me from something when I hadn’t done anything wrong. I was just a kid, playing on my front porch.

Later on, I did attend other churches, but it was always uncomfortable for me. I didn’t think or believe what they did, I didn’t believe I was born a sinner, and I thought it was horrific that the cross a man was crucified and bloodied on was held up as a symbol I should admire (how gruesome is that, really?)

Beyond that, the niceness and friendliness I experienced at those churches always seemed fake and self-serving…not real. Fake smiles, fake caring, fake ‘love’, all with undertones of judging and disapproval.

So yeah, you can argue that I had nothing but bad experiences or whatever, but take away the behavior and people I met, and I still felt uncomfortable. What I was told while sitting in church seemed made up, fabricated, a convenient way to control people and make them do things out of duty, fear, or shaming. Not to mention how utterly jealous and vengeful god seemed to be — and narcissistic as well.

I also have a problem with those who cherry-pick the bible. They will conveniently pick something to hold up as a sin, yet will forget about other things mentioned that are supposedly a no-no to god. Or, they’ll interpret things the way they want, and boldly assert it’s what god meant. Wow — really? Human beings use the bible for their own purposes and to their own ends, whatever those might be. The bible has been through so many revisions and so many human hands have touched it (and written it) that I fail to understand how you can rely on it at all.

Not to mention the sheer lack of logic found in so much of the bible and certain teachings. In the end, it seems human beings are nothing more than pawns in a big, elaborate game being lorded over and controlled by a deity that has control issues and a huge ego on par with ridiculousness. Again, this is how I see it.

ABOUT THE CLIP:
“In this clip from a sermon, a Christian pastor explains how he walked up to a smart-aleck kid who wasn’t ‘taking the Lord serious’… and punched him in the chest.Because that’s how you’re supposed to win converts for Jesus.”

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/friendlyatheist/2015/01/10/pastor-brags-about-punching-a-bright-kid-in-the-chest-because-he-didnt-take-the-lord-seriously/

Leave a Reply

