Unearthing New Ancestral DNA Info and Distant Ancestors (!) from My Birth Father’s Paternal Line

Screenshot of my DNA countries of ancestry courtesy of my 23andme.com DNA test. Couldn’t fathom where the Russian DNA came from. Thanks to new info from a few days ago, now I know! It is related to my my birth father’s paternal line and I’m distantly related to Nicholas II of Russia. I don’t know much about him, but today I’ll research!

Countries of Ancestry

Found a huge piece of the missing puzzle! I was adopted, so I had to locate a male relative to get access to my birth father’s haplogroup. Well, I did and now I have additional info from that well!

Here’s a screenshot:

Paternal Haplogroup

It gets better, in modern times, out of people who are living, Malcolm Gladwell, the author of The Tipping Point and Outliers is distantly related to me along my birth father’s DNA haplogroup. SO freakin’ cool! Guess I’ll have to read all the books of his I haven’t read yet, huh?

I saved the best for last. Nicholas II of Russia is cool, but “Adams” is one of the top surnames of my DNA relatives…and it turns out, along my father’s haplogroup info, I’m distantly related to — are you freakin’ ready?! — John Adams AND John Quincy Adams. WHAT?! Holy shit! Those two blew me away. I mean, from that paternal line, I’m related to not one, but TWO United States Presidents, the 2nd and the 6th, respectively. BLOWN AWAY.

I’m telling’ ya, getting my ancestral DNA results from 23andme.com has been one of the BEST decisions I’ve ever made in my life. As a person who was adopted, it has filled in so many blanks.
Grateful.

Leave a Reply

